Watford’s Isaac Success Has Been Called Up To The Super Eagles For World Cup Qualifier (See Full Squad)

Spread the love

Watford striker Isaac Success has been named in the Nigeria squad for the first time for their World Cup 2018 qualifier in Zambia on 9 October.



He has played at youth level for Nigeria, helping them win the 2013 Under-17 World Cup.

His Watford team-mate Odion Ighalo has been left out to attend the burial of his father a day before the match.

John Mikel Obi is also on the 23-man list despite not playing for Chelsea yet this season.

Obi captained Nigeria at the Olympics in Brazil and led them to a bronze medal but has not featured for new Chelsea boss Antonio Conte since his return.

Coach Gernot Rohr has largely kept faith with the side that earned a 1-0 win over Tanzania in a dead-rubber 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier in early September.

But there are recalls for Arsenal forward Alex Iwobi, Chelsea loanee Kenneth Omeruo and Belgium-based midfielder Anderson Esiti, who all missed Rohr’s first game in charge of the Super Eagles.

Injured Moses Simon is listed after assuring Rohr that he would be fully fit before the game.

Nigeria are in Group B, with Cameroon and Algeria – who have both been at the past two World Cup finals – placed alongside 2012 Africa Cup of Nations winners Zambia.

There are five groups of four teams with only the winners of each group making it to the tournament in Russia.

Nigeria have missed out on the last Nations Cups but have appeared at the last two World Cups in South Africa and Brazil, reaching the last 16 in 2014.

Nigeria squad:

Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); William Troost-Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway); Kenneth Omeruo (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Jamiu Alimi (Kano Pillars); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey); Elderson Echiejile (Standard Liege, Belgium), Kingsley Madu (SV Zulte Waregem, Belgium)

Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Chelsea, England); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium); Nosa Igiebor (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel), Anderson Esiti (KAA Gent, Belgium)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Brown Ideye (Olympiacos FC, Greece)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *