ESPY Awards: The Complete Winners List.

Spread the love

The fan-voted awards show was hosted by WWE star and actor John Cena.

John Cena

LeBron James and Stephen Curry are facing off once again this summer.

The pro-basketball stars — James’ Cleveland Cavaliers beat Curry’s Golden State Warriors in the NBA Finals last month to take the team’s first-ever championship — are both vying at the ESPY Awards on Wednesday night in two of the same categories: best male athlete and best NBA player. (James is in the running for the latter for a 12th consecutive year.)

James and his teammates, along with Curry, Carolina Panthers quarterback Cam Newton and Washington Nationals right-fielder Bryce Harper, also lead the overall ESPY nominations.

The 2016 ESPYs, voted on by fans, were hosted by WWE star and actor John Cena and aired live on ABC at 8 p.m. ET (delayed PT) from Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles.

Also being honored at the ceremony were Zaevion Dobson, a 15-year-old Tennessee high school football star who was shot to death while shielding three girls from bullets in December 2015, was presented posthumously with the Arthur Ashe Courage Award; and TNT’s NBA sideline reporter Craig Sager, who has been battling cancer for two years, was honored with the Jimmy V Perseverance Award.

The Pat Tillman Award for Service went to Sgt. Elizabeth Marks, who suffered a debilitating injury to both of her hips while deployed as a U.S. Army combat medic in Iraq. After undergoing several surgeries, she is now the No. 1-ranked Paraswimmer in the world in the 100-meter breaststroke and won four gold medals at this year’s Invictus Games.

Best Male Athlete.

LeBron James (WINNER)
Stephen Curry
Cam Newton
Bryce Harper

Best Female Athlete.

Breanna Stewart (WINNER)
Elena Delle Donne
Katie Ledecky
Simone Biles

Best Championship Performance.

LeBron James, NBA Finals (WINNER)
Von Miller, Super Bowl
Carli Lloyd, World Cup Final
Sidney Crosby, Stanley Cup Playoffs

Best Breakthrough Athlete.

Jake Arrieta (WINNER) 
Conor McGregor
Chloe Kim
Karl-Anthony Towns

Best Record-Breaking Performance.

Stephen Curry – single season three-pointers made (WINNER)
Geno Auriemma – most NCAA basketball titles in D1 history (11)
Christian McCaffery – single season NCAAF all-purpose yards

Best Upset.

Holly Holm knocks out Ronda Rousey, UFC (WINNER)
Middle Tennessee over Michigan State, Men’s NCAA Basketball Tournament
Roberta Vinci over Serena Williams, US Open

Best Game.

Golden State Warriors vs. Cleveland Cavaliers, NBA Finals Game 7 (WINNER)
Villanova vs. North Carolina, Men’s NCAA Basketball Final
Cardinals vs. Green Bay Packers, NFL Divisional Round

Best Moment (Not to Be Voted On).

Cleveland wins first title in over 50 years (WINNER)

Best Comeback Athlete (Not to Be Voted On)

Eric Berry (WINNER)

Best Play (16 Nominees Voted Bracket-Style)

1. Aaron Rodgers Hail Mary vs. 16. Crazy 66-yard Ole Miss’ TD (WINNER)
2. Kris Jenkins buzzer beater vs. 15. Connor McDavid goal
3. Michigan St punt block TD vs. 14. Stanford trick play w/ circus catch
4. LeBron Game 7 block vs. 13. Louis Oosthuizen hole-in-one off of ball
5. Steph Curry 38-foot game-winner vs. 12. Army softball player leaps over tag
6. Holly Holm knockout of Ronda Rousey vs. 11. Bartolo Colon first home run
7. Tiffany Howard HR robbery WCWS vs. 10. Josh Donaldson diving into stands
8. Jairo Samerio scores on scissor-kick ground vs. 9. Dele Alli juggling goal for Tottenham

Best Team

Cleveland Cavaliers (WINNER)
Pittsburgh Penguins
Kansas City Royals
Denver Broncos
Alabama Crimson Tide
UConn Huskies
Villanova Wildcats

Best Coach/Manager

Tyronn Lue, Cleveland Cavaliers (WINNER)
Ned Yost, Kansas City Royals
Geno Auriemma, UConn Huskies
Jay Wright, Villanova Wildcats
Nick Saban, Alabama Crimson Tide

Best International Athlete

Cristiano Ronaldo (WINNER)
Novak Djokovic
Lydia Ko
Luis Suarez
Canelo Alvarez

Best NFL Player

Cam Newton (WINNER)
Tom Brady
JJ Watt
Antonio Brown
Julio Jones

Best MLB Player

Bryce Harper (WINNER)
Josh Donaldson
Jake Arrieta
Mike Trout
Clayton Kershaw

Best NHL Player

Sidney Crosby (WINNER)
Patrick Kane
Alex Ovechkin
Joe Pavelski
Braden Holtby

Best Driver

Kyle Busch (WINNER)
Lewis Hamilton
Erica Enders-Stevens
Scott Dixon
Alexander Rossi

Best NBA Player

LeBron James (WINNER)
Stephen Curry
Kawhi Leonard
Kevin Durant
Russell Westbrook

Best WNBA Player

Maya Moore (WINNER)
Elena Delle Donne
Angel McCoughtry
Tina Charles
DeWanna Bonner

Best Fighter

Conor McGregor (WINNER)
Gennady Golovkin
Canelo Alvarez
Robbie Lawler
Roman Gonzalez

Best Male Golfer

Jordan Spieth (WINNER)
Jason Day
Dustin Johnson
Danny Willett

Best Female Golfer

Lydia Ko (WINNER)
Inbee Park
Brooke Henderson
Ariya Jutanugarn

Best Male Tennis Player

Novak Djokovic (WINNER)
Andy Murray
Roger Federer

Best Female Tennis Player

Serena Williams (WINNER)
Angelique Kerber
Flavia Pennetta
Garbine Muguruza

Best Male College Athlete

Buddy Hield (WINNER)
Derrick Henry
Jordan Morris
Jarrion Lawson
Alex Dieringer

Best Female College Athlete

Breanna Stewart (WINNER)
Raquel Rodriguez
Samantha Bricio
Taylor Cummings
Sierra Romero

Best Male Action Sports Athlete

Ryan Dungey (WINNER)
Gus Kenworthy
Nyjah Huston
Pedro Barros
Mark McMorris

Best Female Action Sports Athlete

Jamie Anderson (WINNER)
Chloe Kim
Keala Kennelly
Carissa Moore

Best Jockey

Mario Gutierrez (WINNER)
Kent Desormeaux
Javier Castellano
Irad Ortiz Jr.

Best Male Athlete With a Disability

Richard Browne (WINNER)
Joe Berenyi
Aaron Fotheringham
Nikko Landeros
Brad Snyder

Best Female Athlete With a Disability

Tatyana McFadden (WINNER)
Heather Erickson
Oksana Masters
Bethany Hamilton
Shawn Morelli

Best Bowler

Jason Belmonte (WINNER)
Jesper Svensson
Ryan Ciminelli
Anthony Simonsen

Best MLS Player

Sebastian Giovinco (WINNER)
Kei Kamara
Laurent Ciman
Luis Robles

One thought on “ESPY Awards: The Complete Winners List.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *