Nigeria recall Olympic star Oghenekaro Etebo to squad.. See Full List

Spread the love
Oghenekaro Etebo

Nigeria manager Gernot Rohr has named Oghenekaro Etebo in his 24-man squad for next month’s 2018 World Cup qualifier against Algeria in Uyo.

Etebo, who plays for CD Feirense in Portugal, scored four goals to help Nigeria clinch bronze at the 2016 Rio Olympics.

“I am delighted to be recalled and I hope to give my best to the country as always,” Etebo told BBC Sport following his first call-up under the new national manager.

Premier League duo Victor Moses and Odion Ighalo are also included.

Chelsea’s Moses is back to full fitness, and Watford striker Ighalo returns having been excused from the Zambia game to bury his father.

There are recalls for midfielder John Ogu, goalkeeper Dele Alampasu and Germany-based defender Leon Balogun.

The only uncapped player in the squad is little known defender Tyronne Ebuehi from Dutch club ADO Den Haag.

FC IfeanyiUbah goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa is the only player from the Nigeria premier league picked as the competition is on a break.

Three-time African champions Nigeria are top of Group B in their qualifying race for Russia after a hard-fought 2-1 win in Zambia.

The full squad:

Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Dele Alampasu (FC Cesarense, Portugal)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); William Troost-Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway); Kenneth Omeruo (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Uche Henry Agbo (Granada FC, Spain); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey); Elderson Echiejile (Standard Liege, Belgium), Kingsley Madu (SV Zulte Waregem, Belgium)

Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England); Brown Ideye (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *